The penalties for drunk driving are serious. The severity of these penalties is designed to act as a deterrent, since drunk driving is the cause of about one third of all traffic-related fatalities. Driving with an elevated blood alcohol content (BAC) at or above 0.08 percent is considered driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol. At this level, one will likely be charged with a DUI.
Approximately 10 percent of drunk driving collisions involve those under the age of 21. In that age bracket, many young adults are college students. Driving under the influence, while not a criminal offense in New Jersey, still has serious repercussions, particularly for a student in college. The consequences can be more severe if caught driving under the age of 21.
DUI Penalties and Consequences
A DUI charge or conviction has the potential to affect employment and educational opportunities. For example, a prospective employer may have reservations about hiring an applicant with a DUI. With a DUI charge or conviction, questions about character, judgement, and the ability to avoid reckless behavior may now be a concern.
Additionally, depending on the school policy and after a special administrative hearing, a DUI charge of conviction could mean suspension, or even expulsion. Not to mention, the student may lose grants or other forms of financial aid, school housing, and the ability to continue playing on a sports team. The student may also be required to participate in community service or an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program, which is a statewide substance abuse intervention program for individuals charged with DUIs.
Depending on the BAC level, the student may be required to install a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) in his or her vehicle once he or she can drive again. The BAIID is designed to allow a vehicle ignition switch to start the engine when the BAC of the driver is below the alcohol set point. The ignition switch locks the ignition when the BAC of the driver is at or above the alcohol set point.
In addition to fines, legal fees, increased insurance rates, and loss of license for at least six months, a college student under the age of 21 can expect additional penalties if caught driving with an elevated BAC. These include:
- New Jersey Minor in Possession of Alcohol
- Violation of Child Endangerment Laws
- Underage Solicitation of Alcohol
- Supplying minors with alcohol
- Unlawful use of license or possession of a fake ID
- Additional vehicle violations
Cherry Hill DUI Lawyers at Gigliotti Law Group Defend College Students Facing DUI Charges
If you are a college student that has been charged with a DUI, contact a Cherry Hill DUI lawyer from Gigliotti Law Group for assistance. With over 50 years of combined experience, our defense team has handled thousands of DUI cases. We have built sound relationships with forensic experts and medical doctors with whom we work closely with in analyzing DUI cases and preparing effective defenses. We challenge the scientific reliability of a breath testing instrument and have helped clients beat DUIs. Located in Cherry Hill, New Jersey, we represent clients throughout the South Jersey region. For a free consultation, contact us online or give us a call at 844-742-7591 today.