Fearless In Our Representation.
Sex Crime Defense Lawyer
Even if a sex crime is nonviolent, a conviction can result in significant penalties and prison time. South Jersey criminal defense lawyers at Gigliotti Law Group have decades of experience successfully defending clients charged with sex crimes in New Jersey. Our experience includes cases involving:
- Creation of child pornography: When a person is accused of creating pornographic material depicting minors or knowingly allowing a child to be a subject of child pornography, he or she could face a number of charges, such as child abuse, knowingly endangering the well-being of a child, sexual exploitation of minors, possession of child pornography and distribution of child pornography. Possible jail time is five to 10 years in prison. If the alleged offender is the child’s parent or guardian, the charges are upgraded from a second-degree offense to a first-degree offense and possible jail sentences increase to 10 to 20 years.
- Distribution of child pornography: This is a second-degree crime punishable by up to 10 years in prison. Distribution pertains to the sharing of pornographic images or material in any manner, such as emailing, posting online, or otherwise.
- Failure to register as a sex offender: Convicted sex offenders are required to register with their local police departments in accordance with Megan’s law. A failure to register could result in a charge of failing to report, a fourth-degree crime with a penalty of up to 18 months in state prison. Failing to accurately detail all required information on a registration form can also result in charges. Some convicted offenders may be eligible to terminate their obligation to register.
- Indecent exposure / public lewdness: Any lewd act that is likely to be observed and considered offensive by a non-consenting witness could lead to a disorderly persons charge. Lewd acts or genital exposure to children under the age of 13 or persons with mental health conditions are considered a crime of the fourth degree. Municipal ordinances may also apply in indecent exposure or lewdness cases.
- Internet sex crimes / soliciting a minor: These crimes rarely involve physical contact; however, they may still carry stiff penalties and have a significant negative impact on the lives of those accused. If not effectively defended, online chats can lead to jail time and mandatory Megan’s law registration.
- Megan’s law tier hearing: Once a convicted offender has registered with a local police department, a prosecutor will determine his or her tier classification based on the nature and severity of the offense and estimated public risk. Tiers determine the scope of community notification. Within 14 days of a tier assignment, an offender has the right to appeal the prosecutor’s decision at a tier hearing.
- Possession of child pornography: Child pornography includes pictures, videos, digital images or any other materials that portray children as a means for sexual stimulation. The images may depict children engaged in sexual activity or simply be images containing nudity. Possession of child pornography, or viewing or downloading child pornography, is a fourth-degree felony and could result in up to 18 months of jail time and mandatory sex offender registration. It essential that you hire an experienced New Jersey child pornography lawyer if you are being investigated for possession of child pornography in New Jersey. A conviction could have a profound effect on your family, your career and your reputation.
- Prostitution and solicitation: These are covered under the same law in New Jersey. If a person either offers or accepts an offer to engage in sexual activity in exchange for something of value, he or she can be charged with prostitution. A first conviction is considered a disorderly persons offense and could result in up to six months of jail time and up to $1000 in fines. A second offense and subsequent offenses are fourth-degree crimes and could lead to up to 18 months in state prison and fines. If either party involved is under the age of 18, it becomes a third-degree crime with three to five years in prison as well as fines.
- Sexual stalking: Stalking is typically a fourth-degree felony that carries up to 18 months of prison time. It can be upgraded to a third-degree offense if certain conditions are met, in which case offenders could face three to five years in prison as well as a permanent restraining order.
- Video voyeurism: “Up-skirting” or secretly taking photos or videos of others for the purpose of sexual gratification is considered a fourth-degree crime in New Jersey and could lead to jail time and fines. If those images are shared, the offense becomes a third-degree crime and the penalties increase.
South Jersey criminal defense lawyers at the law offices of Gigliotti Law Group will aggressively defend your rights if you are charged with a sex crime in New Jersey. Our team will conduct an in-depth examination of all the facts in your case, and we will prepare a compelling, effective defense that addresses any obstacles and anticipates the opposition’s tactics.
Our attorneys have the extensive experience necessary to effectively and correctly evaluate your options. Whether the resolution of your case should be a trial or a plea agreement, be assured that it is a decision that will be made intelligently and mutually. Our team is comprised of highly skilled litigators and negotiators with a proven track record of success.
Gigliotti Law Group Defends Your Rights If Charged With A Sex Crime
A criminal charge is nothing to be taken lightly. When charged with a sex crime in South Jersey, know that time is of the essence. Contact Gigliotti Law Group to start drafting your defense. Our Camden criminal lawyers will aggressively defend your case. Contact us online today, or call our Cherry Hill offices at 844-SHARK 911 (856-651-7685) to schedule your free consultation. We advocate for those charged with crimes in Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Mercer County.